“We Have to Build the Road”

Since long before tryouts I have been planning this season. Night after night siting in my chair after I put my kids to bed I would grab my little binder and poor out idea after idea onto paper. Any spare second I could find was spent gathering information from videos, books, and other coaches I respect so I could be the best form of myself for you guys. Its how I do things.

I don’t know how to “kill less than a whole critter”.

I’m a super passionate and competative person. Losing hurt me so much that I freed my pain with preparation. I knew that if I was prepared before practice, during practice, each point, each contact….I had nothing I could regret. It was liberating. I want that for you guys. I can’t decide your level of dedication, obsession, or preparation….but I can explain its importance to success.

“You Have to Build the Road” – Abraham Lincoln

Holocaust

In the 1860’s there was a need for faster transportation from coast to coast. The concept of a “transcontinental railroad” was born. A goal was made if you will. In 1863 the began to work on this goal. Day after day they laid railroad ties and spikes. They worked through extreme temperatures, illnesses, and fatigue one spike at a time until the project was completed….in 1869…..6 YEARS later. But after all their work, they could reach their goal. But never, could the get further than the road they build could take them.

DownloadedFile

The trains couldn’t go beyond what the worked to pay. Not one inch. If they left a gap in the track and kept going, the train still couldn’t work without de-railing. They had to work not only to lay the track in front of them, but to also maintain and repair the road they had already finished.

The moment I read this I knew it was perfect for this team. I owe it to you to tell you the truth about success. It doesn’t happen on someone elses track. Roads that have been built by other people aren’t worth traveling. This team, you 12 along with me and Tyler, need to build our own road. I want this to be our identity. I strongly believe that if we can buy into the concept of we can only go as far as the road we build for ourselves, we will go far beyond our expectations.

news_4_7_2011_4

Because expectations don’t build roads. Desires don’t build roads. Only hard work and commitment builds the road. Who’s in? I’m in.

Write down what this means to you, and how you plan to build the road. Bring it Tuesday. Time to do some work!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment